WWW Wednesday: Whatcha reading?

www_wednesdays43

 

 

We’re now halfway through the week – yaaaayyyyy!!!!! – which means it is the perfect time to look back on what literary lovelies have been gracing us with their presence this week, what books we’ve said goodbye to and what we can’t wait to get our grabby reader’s hands on next! So without further ado, I give you my WWW Wednesday list! (I do love a good list! πŸ™‚ )

1. What are you currently reading?

That would be Sea of Shadows by Kelley Armstrong. A new YA supernatural series from the queen of supernatural series, this one is about twins, Ashyn and Moira, who have the not-so lovely task of being stationed next to the Forest of the Dead so they can perform their destined roles – to calm the spirits of the criminals etc exiled there. Usually the rituals go to plan but, of course, it wouldn’t be a very interesting read if that happened this year! Things go very wrong and get very bloody, very fast! So far it’s not proving to be just as good as her Otherworld series but I’m intrigued so I’ll persevere!

2. What did you recently finish reading?

I finished The River of No Return by Bee Ridgway. This was a time travel meets period drama romance kind of book and if you’re thinking about reading it, particularly the paper version, be prepared because this is an epic tome! Back in 1812, Lord Nicholas Falcott is just about to be killed during a battle in Spain when he mysteriously jumps forward 200 years in the future. There he is introduced to The Guild, a creepy organisation of people who all have the ability to travel in time and claim to have the responsibility of guarding ‘the river’ aka time. For 10 years, Nick is quite happy just going with the flow in modern times but then he is tasked with going back to his time and trying to stop a major event that could mean the end of time! Dramatic, no? And, of course, back in the past he is reunited with the woman he’s been obsessing over for a decade! Overall, I enjoyed this book and the ending certainly was unputdownable but I have to admit to finding sections of this one a bit slow, and the characters could be a bit irritating at times!

3. What do you think you’ll read next?

Well, if you read my last WWW Wednesday post, you’ll know that I’m expecting a lovely book haul to arrive in the post any day now. As we all know the decision on what to read next is usually not an easy one but this time I cannot wait to get started on Roomies, by Sara Zarr and Tara Altebrando! I first saw this one on the blogs and it sounded right up my alley – especially given how much I LOVED Fangirl and the fact that this one features my beloved San Francisco and University of Berkeley. Like Fangirl, this focuses on college-aged students and in this case, two future roomates who are getting to know each other online the summer before they start Berkeley. I’ve heard nothing but good things and I’m sure I’ll love it too!

 

2 thoughts on “WWW Wednesday: Whatcha reading?

  1. I have really got to read The River of No Return soon — it’s been taunting me from my shelves, but I have so many other things to read too including a review pile that seems to have taken on a life of its own! Sometimes I swear there is a magical window of time in which to read a book after I’ve bought it and if I don’t pick it up then, it languishes on the shelf 😦

    • You’ll have to let me know if you like it! Overall I did but I felt it could’ve been a bit shorter. I know what you mean! There are some books I bought when I was in a specific mood but I never seem to be in that same mood to read them! If I’m honest I only keep a few of them there because they’re classics and I like that it breaks up the YA, fantasy and chick-lit on the shelves! πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

