An Evening with Rainbow Rowell

Now as some of you will know I’m not normally a two posts in the one day kind of girl but I am majorly geeking out right now and who better to share my news with than all you lovely people in the blogosphere! I found out today, totally by chance, that Rainbow Rowell is going to be doing a talk/signing at my favourite bookshop – and I got a ticket!!! Woo hoo doesn’t even begin to cover my reaction and I had to restrain myself from jumping up and down in the middle of the shop, clapping my hands like a school kid when I was handed the ticket. ๐Ÿ™‚

From time to time we have literary festivals in Scotland but the big name authors, if they come to Scotland, normally can be found in Edinburgh which is on the other side of the country from me. Very rarely do any of my favourite authors come to the West coast and visit Glasgow, so this is even more of a huuuuuge treat for me!

If you’ve read the blog before you’ll know that Fangirlย has been one of my favourite reads of the year! Not normally my kind of book I came across it one day, in the very same bookshop where I’ll be meeting Rainbow Rowell, and after reading all the rave reviews on here decided to take a chance – and boy, was I glad I did! This book just made me so uber happy at a time when I was feeling pretty low so I can’t wait to get it signed and hear her speak about it!

I read a lot of YA, and now thanks to Fangirl, read New Adult books too and I’m in no way ashamed of that. Everyone I know, knows I read them, I read them in the train and don’t care who sees and I write about them on here. And I know I’m not the only person my age (recently turned 32) who reads these kind of books but what I’m wondering is will I be the oldest person at the signing or will there be a bit more of a mix of ages? What do you all think? If you’ve been to a Rainbow Rowell event was it mainly teenagers and people in their early 20s or were there some older (slightly!) people there as well? It’s not going to stop me going or ruin it in any way for me, I’m just curious!

Have any of you met Rainbow or a favourite author?

4 thoughts on “An Evening with Rainbow Rowell

  1. That’s so exciting! I have no experience with this kind of thing, but I wouldn’t be surprised if there is a range of ages. YA is not enjoyed just by teens anymore as greatly evidenced by the book blogosphere. You’ll have to let us know what the turn-out is like.

    • I know! I couldn’t believe it when I saw she was coming here! Hopefully the turnout will be a bit mixed but if not and I stand out like a sore thumb I can always say I’m there to get it signed for my wee sister who seems to have wandered off somewhere! ๐Ÿ˜‰

Leave a Reply

