Spoilers – Friend or foe?

Now I don’t know about you but I’ve never been the kind of girl who’s gone looking for Christmas or birthday presents. I don’t interrogate people trying to trick them into giving me hints about what they’ve bought me and even if I get a present early, I prefer to keep it until the day itself because I love to be surprised. I love to get caught up in the moment and not know what’s coming next. And that’s the way I’ve always been when it comes to books, tv shows and movies too. Much as I enjoy reading articles about my favourites, I never intentionally go looking for spoilers and if there’s even the slightest chance that I might find out something before I want to know, then I’ll shut down the website and back away from the machine.

Which is why I was NOT a happy bunny a few weeks ago when Daniel Gillies who plays the oh so dreamy and noble, Elijah in The Originals, totally gave away one of the major, most shocking and emotional twists of the season finale on his Facebook page. Yes, it was after the finale had been shown in America but as the many, many complaints on his post showed, this was weeks before it had been shown in quite a wide range of other countries around the world, including here in the UK. So when it came to the finale while I was still able to enjoy the drama, the emotional punch that should have been there, wasn’t.

Obviously America is seen as the big audience for these shows but the studios and the actors all know they are also extremely popular elsewhere. Surely us international fans deserve the same chance to be shocked and emotional wrecks as those in America? Other actors with shows broadcast around the world, like uber hot and super-human, Stephen Amell from Arrow, manage to get the balance right between teasing fans about what’s going to happen next without revealing actual spoilers and ruining the show for fans.

The fear and dislike of spoilers also applies to my reading as well and I always appreciate when you lovely bloggers take steps to either avoid revealing any big twists all together or at least warn people at the start that your review contains spoilers that could ruin the reading experience for us. Sometimes it can be hard to write a review without revealing too much so I appreciate the heads up!

So basically my feelings towards spoilers can be summed up, as so many things in life can, by a Friends episode. In this particular case when Joey and Rachel are reading each other’s favourite books and get caught up in revealing one spoiler after another!

What about you? Do you like to read the spoilers or do you prefer to be surprised?

 

 

4 thoughts on “Spoilers – Friend or foe?

  1. This also makes me think of the Big Bang Theory episode where Leonard is reading Harry Potter and Sheldon and Penny keep *accidentally* spoiling the book for him — it was very funny, but wouldn’t have been if it happened to me! I don’t like spoilers either and that totally sucks about that season finale! I mean, it’s one thing for random people to discuss a season finale on Facebook, Twitter, etc. but an actor from the show should know better than that.

    I recently had the ending of Allegiant semi-spoiled — after my book club meeting for Divergent, a few people who had already read all the books wanted to talk a bit about the ending of the third book — they were talking very cryptically, but I was pretty sure I figured out a pretty big twist. I had fair warning and could have left as soon as the meeting ended, but was talking with someone else and still overheard a bit (totally my own fault). In this case, it helped mentally prepare me for what turned out to be a very controversial ending, so it all worked out in the end, but I definitely try to avoid spoilers as much as I can.

    You’re right that it is very hard to avoid them when writing reviews sometimes. I tend to think of anything revealed in the book’s description/jacket, things you learn very early on that form the foundation of what the book is actually about, and talking about the plot in very broad strokes,(not revealing anything crucial/surprising/twist-y) as fair game in “spoiler-free” reviews and hope that I haven’t ruined anything for anyone!

    • Yeah, that episode is really funny! The actor didn’t even apologise or respond to people who commented on it either! Sometimes I think it’s better just to enjoy the character than learn too much about the actor!

      I don’t think you have to worry about ruining books for anyone. Your reviews are always nice and spoiler free! 🙂

  2. I’m like you, I don’t want to spoil a surprise. When I had children I didn’t want to know the sex as it would be like opening a present early! It is really hard to write some reviews without giving spoilers but I double (and triple) check that nothin dis said about the plot that hasn’t been given in the synopsis! Great post!

Leave a Reply

