A few of my favourite things!

Last night I had an amazing trip to my first ever ballet, Swan Lake, with my mum where I got to indulge both my cultural side – the dancing and music were absolutely superb, the acting was impressive and so was the set design – and my shallow side. The version of Swan Lake that we saw was Matthew Bourne’s and for those of you who aren’t familiar with his work, this version of the ballet has all the ‘swans’ played by men whose costumes consist of feathery trousers, a bit of make-up and as you can see from this video (from another theatre’s performance of the show), not much else. πŸ˜‰

I had such a great time and it put me in such a good mood that I thought today I’d do a post on a few of my other favourite things – both bookish and non-bookish. Give you a glimpse behind the curtain of Confessions of a Book Ninja as it were! So here we go…

This first one won’t be a surprise to any of you lovely people! These are a selection of my beloved bookcases…

Bookcases

Also in this shot you’ll see a few of my other favourite things like my foam claw from the trip of a lifetime to the University of Berkeley where my inner-hippy always dreamed of going and hanging down the wall are the medals from the races I’ve done so far. I’ve recently re-kindled my motivation to run so hopefully I’ll be adding to these this year!

Whether I’m reading or watching tv, on the many wet and dreary winter’s nights we’ve been having lately, I do love to indulge my caffeine addiction and curl up on the couch with a duvet and a nice steaming cup of tea/coffee/hot chocolate…

Cuppa

Okay, so this was a lovely cuppa I got at a wee cafe by the harbourside in Largs and not one I made at home but I do love it when they make a wee design with the chocolate on top! πŸ™‚ If I’m feeling really wild and crazy, I might accompany the cuppa with one of these…

Cupcakes

And while I’m supping and stuffing my face, if I’m not reading I might choose to escape with one of my favourite shows like these ones…

Favourite shows

My boxset collection is one of the few things that may actually rival my book collection. Both collections are pretty much taking over my house at this point!

One of the things I love about Β living in Scotland is that on the very rare days we actually get to see some sunshine I can hop in my dream car called Berkeley (guess what she’s named after!)…

Berkeley

And get to go see things like this…

Arran

Or this…

Dean Castle

Now that I’ve shared a few of my favourite things with you all I have to go prepare for afternoon tea with my family. Unfortunately it won’t be an afternoon tea like this one at a speak-easy themed bar in Glasgow where the cocktails are served in teapots but as long as there’s caffeine and cake, I’m good! πŸ™‚

Cocktail afternoon tea

What about all of you? What are a few of your favourite things? Bookish or otherwise?

18 thoughts on “A few of my favourite things!

  1. I love your bookshelves! So much neater than mine!

    I think our favourite things are pretty much the same (except in my case my car is a wonderful, dark green P-reg Micra with only two hubcaps called Vesuvius) but I’d probably have to add baking. I just made some chocolate covered vanilla cardamom biscuits and they are pretty awesome if I say so myself!

    • Thanks but you should see the ones on the other side of the room that I didn’t show! πŸ˜‰

      Vesuvius? Good name! Did the name just come to you or was there a specific reason? They sound yummy! I like eating biscuits like that but I think it’s safer for everyone if I don’t try to bake them! lol

      • Haha, that’s alright then, I feel better now!

        It’s a bit of a random story, he was called Erin when he belonged to my mum but I didn’t like it. Then I inherited a koala toy named Augustus from my Grandma’s car so I needed a name to match and Vesuvius seemed to fit!

        Aww I love baking but I can be a bit too experimental, it doesn’t always go well!

      • Fair enough! I think every car should have a name but sometimes people can look at you funny when you say you name your cars! lol

        Experimenting is how you come up with the good stuff! Not that I know myself obviously but I’ve heard that from friends who bake/cook! πŸ™‚

  2. I love this list! Especially that car…My mom used to have the mint green VW beetle and I would drive it whenever I would visit. Absolutely one of my favorite things. My other favorite things are: literary fiction books (of course), the beach back home in Florida, walking along the Seine, tea, carrot cake and my daughter’s favorite stuffed rabbit because she loves it so much and it’s “so ugly that it’s cute.”

    • Beetles are just the best cars! I’d always wanted one and a few years ago there was one on sale around my 30th birthday so I decided to treat myself! πŸ™‚ Great list yourself! Must be so nice to be able to walk along the Seine whenever you can. Aww, does the rabbit have a name?

      • Good for you, treating yourself with that awesome beetle! The rabbit’s name is “Doudou” (pronounced: Doo-doo). It’s actually the French word for a child’s security blanket. Most French babies and toddlers have a “doudou,” and creative as we are, we didn’t even come up with a different name for ours. Ha, ha! So we just call him “Doudou.” He’s so silly looking that everyone thinks he’s an octopus!! πŸ™‚

  3. What a great list! The ballet must have been amazing. Love all your photos (and btw, I think Hart of Dixie is one of those under-the-radar shows that’s just so much fun!) — and can’t wait to get to Scotland one of these days!

    • It really was so good! Such a powerful performance! Thanks! There’s not enough shows like it! I’ve managed to convince my mum to start watching it and she’s currently working her way through my season 1 boxset. πŸ™‚ Hope you get to come to Scotland some day!

  4. I had a chance to see Matthew’s Swan Lake when it was in Los Angeles more than 10 years ago. Absolutely spectacular, ingenious really. A couple years after, I saw A Play Without Words, which involved three sets of dancers on stage performing simultaneously the same characters, but with slight changes to story. Also amazingly breathtaking at times.

    Parenthood is one of my favorite shows. I wish there were more shows like it on t.v. I have a friend who was a writer’s assistant on Parenthood. I’m so jealous.

    • It really was a fantastic show and that other one sounds pretty amazing as well! It’s just mind blowing when you see performances like that.

      I’m jealous of your friend too! There really aren’t enough shows like that on tv!

Leave a Reply

