Reading Round-Up Returns!

I had intended to write either a really funny or a really thought-provoking discussion post today but to be honest my mind doesn’t want to play so instead I’ll do another reading round-up post and hopefully get some good recomendations from all you lovely people! πŸ™‚

What I’ve read

The Rosie Project by Graeme Simsion

This is another one I probably would never have read if I hadn’t heard so much about it on the blogs and it’s another one where I am very glad that I did! It tells ofΒ  genetics professor, Don Tillman and Rosie. Don is a very Sheldon from the Big Bang Theory type of character and despite giving a lecture on Asperger’s doesn’t realise that he actually has it. He sets up a Wife Project where he hopes, through the use of a VERY detailed questionnaire, that he will be able to find himself a life companion. Enter Rosie. Rosie is disorganised, messed-up emotionally and in short doesn’t meet any of the criteria. Don doesn’t exactly match her ideal man criteria either. Instead, her priority is to find her biological dad and when Don offers to help, The Rosie Project begins. I didn’t love this just as much as Fangirl but it was a lovely, quirky story with characters that you couldn’t help rooting for. It was a really interesting insight into how someone with Asperger’s views the world as well and I thought Graeme Simsion handled Don’s Asperger’s with great sensitivity.

What I’m reading

Code Name: Verity by Elizabeth Wein

Set in WW2, it tells of two girls working as part of the war effort (one is actually a pilot) who are shot down over Germany. One girl is soon captured by the Gestapo and the other has managed to escape. The first part of the story is told from the captured girl’s perspective who after being tortured has agreed to write a ‘confession’ for the Germans. At this point it’s not clear what happened to her friend. Other than The Book Thief which isn’t exactly a typical war book, this is a genre that I never read but one of my resolutions is to read more widely and blog recommendations have been working so well for me lately that after hearing rave reviews of this, I decided to give it a try. I’m only about 60 pages in so I can’t say too much about this one yet but I think it’s really interesting to read a war story from the perspective of women involved in the war effort rather than just waiting at home for their beloved who’s probably missing, presumed dead. I’m looking forward to reading more of this one although I hear I’ll definitely be needing some tissues?

Still to read

  • Paris, Rue des Martyrs by Adria J. Cimino – This was my ‘mystery’ book that I mentioned in my last Reading Round-Up. It tells the story of four strangers in Paris, each with their own quest and each quest will intertwine as the novel progresses. I love stories set in Paris and I love reading stories which start out separate but then all come together!
  • Ragnarok by A.S. Byatt – This short book is the re-telling of Norse legend through the eyes of a small child evacuated to the countryside during WW2. I’ve heard that, although it’s a short one, it packs a punch so I’m waiting till I’m in the right frame of mind before tackling this one.
  • Touch of Power by Maria V. Synder – I’ve been wanting to try one of Maria’s series for a while now and have taken the plunge with this one. A fantasy set in the magical land of Kazan which has been ravaged by a mysterious plague for years. Avry, a woman with the power to heal, has been imprisoned for her abilities but men break into her cell one night and demand she use her powers to save their Prince. The man who unleashed the plague in the first place.
  • Named of the Dragon by Susanna Kearsley – Lyn is a literary agent (troubled, of course!) who is spending Christmas with one of her writers. There she meets Elen who is convinced that Lynn is there to save her young son. As if this wasn’t troubling enough, Lynn is also having disturbing dreams of legends, prophecies and a child destined for greatness. And there is obviously a brooding neighbour to help her figure it all out. Prophecies, destiny and brooding (and no doubt hunky!) neighbours?? Need I say more? πŸ˜‰
  • The Romance of the Forest by Ann Radcliffe – I am determined to read more classics this year and will be starting with this one. To be honest I first became aware of it when it was mentioned in Emma but I enjoyed The Mysteries of Udolpho after reading about it in Northanger Abbey so I thought, ‘Why not?’ People seeking refuge in a gothic abbey, sinister relics and a libidinous Marquis – this sounds like my kind of classic! πŸ™‚
  • A Connecticut Yankee in King Arthur’s Court by Mark Twain – Another classic to tick off the list this has American mechanic Hank being knocked unconscious and waking up in Camelot. I’ve always loved stories where people are transported back to the past plus, if I’m honest, it was on sale! πŸ™‚
  • Let Me Off at the Top by Ron Burgundy – The biography of Anchorman’s Ron Burgundy. What fan of Anchorman wouldn’t want to read this??

What about you? What are you reading?

How out of control is your TBR?

 

18 thoughts on “Reading Round-Up Returns!

    • I don’t think I’ve heard of that book. I’ll need to look it up although it doesn’t sound like a book I’ll be rushing to read then! 730? Wow! Good luck with March Madness!

    • Ooh, another one I’ve not heard of! Yes, my TBR pile, if I include my wishlist, just keeps growing all the time! But I don’t think mine is as much as Cathy’s either! πŸ™‚

  1. I need to get back to The Rosie Project. I was reading it in little bits at night, and I need to really dive in fully to appreciate Don’s sensibilities. And I have Ragnarok on my Nook but I ALWAYS forget about it! I’ve loved Byatt’s short stories which have a magical/mythical quality, so I think I might love this one, too.

    • The Rosie Project is definitely one that’s worth going back to and really diving in. I’d forgotten about Ragnarok for a while as well! It’s so thin I seem to keep skipping over it on the bookshelf! I’ve only ever read Possession so I’m looking forward to reading another Byatt.

  2. My TBR pile is absolute insanity — my unread books seriously number in the hundreds. It’s kind of become a problem, so I’ve been making a very conscious effort to cut back this year because I have so many neglected books and it makes me sad 😦 I’ve always like buying and collecting books and used bookstores are like a little slice of heaven to me, but it definitely got a lot crazier after I started blogging — all the recommendations just make me want to read ALL the books — too bad there’s not enough time in the day!

    • I know what you mean! I don’t know how I have time to do anything else with all the recommendations I get! And when you see your TBR pile sitting, waiting to be read it can be very hard to make yourself go do something other than just sit and work your way through them! I do try not to buy books until it goes down but my impulse control has not been good this year at all so far. 😦

  3. I really want to read the Rosie Project as I’ve read some really great things about it from other bloggers. I loved CNV so I really hope you enjoy it. I borrowed it from the library last summer and am hoping to buy my own copy at some stage, when I’m not banning myself from buying books, of course! πŸ˜‰ I just finished the Poisonwood Bible yesterday which I really liked, I started it years ago and got stuck at a certain part but picked it up again and got through it, so I’m glad I gave it another chance! I’m kinda stumped about what to read now, even though I have quite a lot of books on my TBR pile. I may have to pick one randomly and attempt to get through the pile!

    • The Rosie Project is definitely worth a read so you’ll have to let me know if you get around to it after your book buying ban is over! πŸ™‚ I’m really enjoying CNV so far and it was soo annoying having to come back to the present and get off the train for work this morning! 😦 Roll on hometime so I can read it again! It is so difficult to choose from your TBR pile isn’t it? Good luck with it! I have no idea what I’m going to read after this one either!

  4. I can’t even tell where my TBR pile ends. And I just noticed that I have 94 samples for books that I might want to read on my Kindle. I read a really good review for Code Name: Verity recently, so I’m curious to see how you like it. I just found “The Complete Northanger Horrid Novel Collection (9 Books of Gothic Romance and Horror)” on Amazon. I’m not sure when I will get to read it, but it includes seven “horrid” novels mentioned in Northanger Abbey and then two by Radcliffe. I couldn’t resist buying it…

    • I’m trying not to add anything else to my TBR pile until I get on a bit further with the ones I have but payday is coming up and I usuall celebrate with new books so we’ll see! I’m loving Code Name: Verity at the moment! So different from what I usually read but so well done, and interesting too! Oh, that sounds like a really good collection! Does it include The Monk?

      • No, it does not. 😦 Other than The Mysteries of Udolpho, I have never heard of any of the books or thei authors. (Other than their mention in Noethanger Abbey…) I know the temptation of payday…!

      • That’s strange, I thought for sure that would be in there. Oh well, this will be a complete literary adventure! πŸ™‚ I can usually justify payday spending by thinking ‘Sure you’ve got a pile of books still to read but who’s to say they’re any good? What if you don’t buy more books, these ones are crap and you’re left bookless?’ lol

  5. Ugh, my TBR pile is out of control — but that seems to be the norm for me! I need to read The Husband’s Secret by Liane Moriarty by next week for a book group, and I hope to get through a couple of ARCs over the weekend. I loved The Rosie Project! It made me really, really happy. In a completely different way, I really loved Code Name Verity as well. If you enjoy that one, you may want to also read Rose Under Fire by Elizabeth Wein, but I’d wait a bit in between. I have some Maria V. Snyder books on my shelf that I still haven’t read, but I really should one of these days! Looks like you have some good stuff coming up. Enjoy!

    • You’ll have to let me know if The Husband’s Secret is any good. I’ve heard mixed reviews about that one but I still quite fancied it. The Rosie Project was great. I hope the author writes more! Code Name Verity has been great too but definitely in a very different way! I’m just about to switch into Maddie’s POV now. I’ve added Rose Under Fire to my wishlist but I’ll definitely need time to recover from this one first! I’m keeping my fingers crossed that I’ve not jinxed myself by talking about how good a reading run I’ve had lately! lol

  6. You’ve been reading some awesome books! I’m going to start The Rosie Project audio soon. And I’ve heard great things about the Touch of Power series. I’ll never catch up with my TBR but I guess I’ve made peace with that, lol. Happy reading!

    • I’ve been having a great reading run lately – just hoping I’ve not jinxed myself by keeping talking about it! lol Yeah, that’s the joy/curse of being a bookaholic – we’re never really going to clear the TBR! πŸ™‚ Happy reading to you too! Enjoy The Rosie Project!

Leave a Reply

