Top 10 Reasons I love being a blogger/reader

toptentuesday2

Well I’ve been trying to think of ways to get back into blogging more regularly after my hiatus and when I saw that this week’s Top 10 Tuesday was about the love of blogging/reading, I thought this was a perfect way to help me do that! I’m very excited to be participating in my first Top 10 Tuesday, so without further ado here we go…

Blogging

1. Recommendations to die for!

As I mentioned in my last post some of the recommendations I’ve got from other blogs have lead to the discovery of new authors, new genres and favourite reads that came along just at the right time in my reading journey. Fangirl is the most recent and successful example but I’ve also been introduced to The Rosie Project (currently reading and loving), Touch of Power, Named of the Dragon and Code Name: Verity.

2. Support and encouragement

Like any new blogger, my blogging journey has had its fair share of ups and downs but whenever I’ve expressed some concerns I’ve been having whether it’s a reading slump, blogging anxieties or motivation issues, all you lovely bloggers have been quick to offer support and encouragement, and it’s meant a lot to me to know that all of you out there have my back!

3. Re-discovering the writer in me

I’ve talked before about the fact I used to write all the time, short stories mostly, but there was also the Pulitzer Prize winning journalist dream for a time. Somewhere along the way I just stopped for some reason but blogging has given me the chance to stretch my creative writing muscles again and it’s felt great! Suddenly I’m a writer again! 🙂

4. I get to talk books, books and more books!

I am a complete bookaholic – as you all know – and I love talking about books, and hearing about good books, and looking at pretty cover reveals…. everything literary. And getting to ‘spend time’ with and ‘talk’ to other people who are just as obsessed as I am, who get hyper and excited when a new book in our favourite series comes out or get mad when Hollywood ruins our favourite books, is one of the very bestest things in the whole world for me. 🙂

Reading

5. Armchair travels

I love to travel but for various reasons I don’t have the chance to do as much of it as I’d like –  not until the lottery win anyway. Being a reader gives me the chance to escape to different countries, different times, different worlds and different universes, and all without having to leave my house. The worlds my favourite writers create are so vivid that I have a hard time leaving them when I turn that last page but I love every second of it!

6. Journey to a happy place

My mind is an overactive whirlwind of thoughts and there aren’t many things that can calm the storm once I get really stressed about something. Spending time wandering around my favourite bookshop, picking out new books to add to my wishlist or curling up with a good escapist read are some of the very few things that can make the world, and my thoughts, go quiet for a while so I will always be grateful for a good book!

7. Kick ass characters

I’ve been lucky enough in my reading to come across some incredible characters that have left their mark on me forever – Katniss Everdeen, Celaena Sardothien, Cath from Fangirl, Harry Potter, Katsa from Graceling…I could go on and on. These characters come alive for me as I read and by the end of the book I feel like I really know them. Those are the books where it’s particularly hard to leave the world the author has created and I’m always dying to go back again.

8. Literary memories

As I sit here writing this, I am surrounded on all sides by my bookshelves and what I love about that is not only does looking at lots of books make me all warm and fuzzy inside, but many of these books also serve as reminders of a particular time and place in my life. They are my literary memories and that makes those books even more special to me.

Okay, I didn’t quite make it to 10 so my first Top 10 Tuesday wasn’t perhaps a total success but I had fun writing anyway and I hope you enjoyed reading it! So what about you? What are your top 10 reasons for loving blogging/reading?

10 thoughts on “Top 10 Reasons I love being a blogger/reader

  1. YESYESYES to all this!! Of course, there are slumps and meh parts but I love the camaraderie and the sharing of fabulous books. And it’s definitely gotten me back into writing, after a break, which I love.

      • Ooh, that works for me! I dream of a little rural town, a very cute bookstore with a coffee shop, and me sitting on a stool at the counter, surrounded by books all day!

      • Oh, I do like the bookshop with the coffee place idea as well! Bliss! That’s why I love my favourite bookshop – is there anything better than wandering around looking at books surrounded by the smell of coffee? Sigh…sorry drifted off there for a minute! 🙂

Leave a Reply

