Reading Round-Up

I realise that every post I’ve done lately – and there hasn’t been a lot of those I know – has been to apologise for my absence and promise to be back to full blogging form soon! Well I’m afraid this post isn’t to mark my triumphant return to full form and there’s still a bit of recovery to do but in the meantime I thought I’d do a reading round-up – what I’ve read, what I’ve still to read and what I want to read. And hopefully find out what all of you lovely people are reading as well so I can get more inspiration for my Amazon wishlist! πŸ™‚

What I’ve read lately

  • World After by Susan Ee – The sequel to one of my favourite reads of 2013, Angelfall, this was one of my most anticipated Christmas reads. There was a lot I liked about it – the infamous Pooky Bear I’d heard so much about, seeing Penryn struggle to deal with what the angels had done to her sister and life after the angel apocalypse, of course, any scenes with the oh so dreamy, Raffe. Unfortuntely I read this before the antibiotics kicked in and I think my general low mood affected my overall enjoyment. I hated that it took so long for Raffe to appear – though I had been warned of his absence – and I really didn’t like those scorpion/locust things. They were just freaky!Β  Overall, I liked this one but didn’t love it nearly as much as Angelfall. 😦
  • Welcome to Rosie Hopkins’ Sweetshop of Dreams by Jenny Colgan – A very different book to the one above as you can probably tell from the title! Rosie Hopkins is an unemployed auxilliary nurse who is asked to visit the village of Lipton to help out her elderly great Aunt, Lillian, and fix up, and sell Lillian’s old fashioned sweet shop. As with any Jenny ColganΒ  book, the storyline is pretty predictable. With some books that’s a problem but with Jenny’s I actually find that quite comforting! You know there’s going to be a cast of loveable funny characters, the main character is going to find themselves and achieve their dreams, and, of course, there will be love. That all of this is threaded with delicious descriptions of sweets is just an added bonus. Though, in retrospect reading a book featuring lots of yummy goodies I can’t currently eat due to my dental issues, wasn’t the best idea! lol
  • Unbreakable by Kami Garcia – I’d heard this was pretty much, Supernatural, in book form and whoever said that was spot on. Kennedy Waters finds her mother dead and is then almost killed herself by a vengeance spirit posessing her cat and stealing her breath. Yes, you heard that right, the cat is possessed. I know! Luckily Kennedy is saved by two gorgeous (obviously!) demon hunting twin brothers who tell her that they are, and her mother was, part of an ancient society dedicated to protecting mankind from a demon. The similarities with Supernatural are everywhere – the twins’ family were part of the demon hunting society, their dad was killed by a demon, they all carry around family journals detailing demon hunting info, one brother is angst ridden and the other is the ‘good’ one…I could go on. There’s very little thought gone into the plotting of this one – the characters are weak as is the storybuilding but if you like Supernatural and want a quick, and easy read that’s just a bit of fun, then you could do a lot worse than this one!

What I’m currently reading

  • Fangirl by Rainbow Rowell – I’ve been hearing about this one on the blogs for a long time and now it’s popping up everywhere in the bookshops. When I spotted it on a buy one, get one half price offer I just couldn’t resist! I only started this last night but so far I am loving it! Cath and her identical twin, Wren (I seem to have a twin thing at the moment!) have just moved to college and while Wren is throwing herself into the experience, distancing herself from Cath, Cath is struggling to engage with the real world instead of the fan fiction that she writes. Obviously there are certain things about the character that are exaggerated for the story but I can definitely relate to the struggle of fitting in at university and the anxiety that goes along with it! The writing style is really engaging and the characters are easy to get on board with so I’m really looking forward to seeing what happens next!

What I’ve still to read

  • Let Me Off At the Top by Ron Burgundy – The last of my Christmas books. I really don’t know why I haven’t read this yet!
  • The Rook by Daniel O’Malley – The tagline says MI5 for wizards so of course I had to buy it!
  • Almost French by Sarah Turnbull – Journalist moves to Paris to start a new life. This is my dream!
  • Mysterious unpublished story – This one is top secret until it’s publication in the near future but I was lucky enough to be asked by my fellow blogger, Adria, to read her new book and I can’t wait!

 

So what about you? What are you reading?

Read anything good lately?

 

12 thoughts on “Reading Round-Up

  1. I’m so glad you’re enjoying Fangirl! That books made me so happy. πŸ™‚ And I thought The Rook was terrific! Really inventive and clever — can’t wait to hear what you think. Enjoy your secret book, too!

    • It really is such a lovely book and it has definitely put a smile on my face! πŸ™‚ Oh, glad to hear you enjoyed The Rook! I’ve not come across anyone else who’s even heard of it! I’m looking forward to reading it!

  2. I cant wait to read Angelfall! I already have it on my Kobo but I’m planning on reading it next month for one of the challenges I signed up for this year. March is urban fiction month so I’m hoping it’ll fit nicely under that category as I’m *supposed* to be on a book-buying ban.(Though I *may* have to run out and buy the sequel if it’s as good as I’ve been hearing…)

    • Angelfall was definitely one of the best books I read last year so I’m sure you’ll love it! I keep telling myself to stop buying books until I finish the ones I have but I just ordered 6 more on Friday so I don’t think I’m doing too great with that! Good luck with your book-buying ban!

    • Sorry for the late reply to your comment! I had a bit of a flare up with my dental issues again so I wasn’t really near a computer outside of work. So excited that your book is now published and I can’t wait to read it! Good luck with it! πŸ™‚

  3. Pingback: Timing is everything! | Confessions of a Book Ninja

  4. Pingback: Reading Round-Up Returns! | Confessions of a Book Ninja

Leave a Reply

