Confessions of a Book Ninja Update!

I had hoped by now to have written a triumphant return blog post with some sort of uber imaginative post title like – ‘I’m baaaaack!’. Unfortunately there’s still a lot going on here in Book Ninja land which is interfering with my blogging time and motivation. Chief among these is the seemingly never-ending dental issues that have been dragging on for 7 weeks now and are having a major impact in terms of both pain and frustration. Anyone can have a simple, easy to understand and treat dental issue but I’m not just anyone. I like to be different and have dental problems that, in their own words, ‘stump’ the dentists! 😦 Keep your fingers crossed I get some answers and solutions very, very soon!

When I’m feeling particularly stressed like this my mind goes into MAJOR overdrive and it’s difficult for me to concentrate on anything too heavy, so my trusted, go-to coping mechanisms (other than friends and family obviously!) are light-hearted books, and my old, and beloved friends, my Gilmore Girls boxsets. It’s a delicate balance finding the right light-hearted book – too light and it won’t hold my interest or offer any sort of distraction at all. At the moment, I’m reading Austenland by Shannon Hale. A very short book, it tells the story of Jane, a young New Yorker with a Jane Austen obsession, particularly with the Colin Firth version of Pride and Prejudice. When Jane’s distant relative dies, she leaves her a trip to an Austen experience where visitors get to dress up and live as they would’ve lived in Regency England.

Admittedly the character of Jane is slightly irritating at times and it’s definitely not the best book in this genre that I’ve ever read but I have to say it’s doing the job nicely at the moment. Whether we’re a Jane Austen fan or not (obviously I am) who among us bookaholics hasn’t fantasised about getting the opportunity to live, even for a while, in one of the worlds that we come across in our books? I certainly don’t have the same level of obsession when it comes to dreaming of literary worlds that Jane has but I have to admit that I can relate and it has been a very pleasant distraction getting to live vicariously through her Austen experience. πŸ™‚ I missed the movie when it was out here in Scotland due to a limited release but it’s definitely one I’ll be checking out when the dvd is available here next month.

As for the Gilmore Girls, that show has seen me (and my mum) through some tough times for years. When I was on the verge of a nervous breakdown during my university exams years ago what got me through? The Gilmore Girls! When my mum was ill and recovering from an operation, what got her through? The Gilmore Girls! For those of you who are unfamiliar with this lovely, lovely show, it’s set in a small-town in Connecticut and shows the ups and downs of life for Lorelai Gilmore and her daughter, Rory, who she had when she was 16. The show is just the right balance between light-hearted and drama, the cast of characters including the Gilmore Girls themselves, are just the right amount of quirky and eccentric without being annoying, and no matter how stressed I am, it always manages to get me back from the edge. If I could find a way to live in Stars Hollow and be BFFs with Lorelai, played of course, by the fabulous Lauren Graham, I would! If you haven’t seen this show, particularly if you’re going through a tough time, you HAVE to go get a copy immediately! It’s one of the best forms of stress relief I’ve ever come across and both me, and my mum, will be eternally grateful for it.

I really, really hope that I’ll get some dental answers and feel better soon so that I can get back to top blogging form, and engaging more with all you lovely people. Just hang in there a wee bit longer and I promise I’ll be back soon!

 

How about you? What are your go-to stress relief/feel better distractions?

Any light-hearted book recommendations for me?

20 thoughts on “Confessions of a Book Ninja Update!

  1. I’m with you on The Gilmore Girls. I don’t watch very much TV, but my friend thought I would like it, so I gave it a try, and I entered Stars Hollow and didn’t come out until a couple weeks after watching the last one. Being able to watch them one after the other like that is dangerous. I have been very reluctant to start any other shows on DVD ever since. I hope your teeth are feeling better soon!

    • Thanks! It is dangerous to have them on dvd. It’s a bit like chocolates and you can never watch just the one episode. We’ve got all 7 seasons and I don’t think it’ll take me long to get through them all at the rate I’m watching them right now!

  2. I LOVE the Gilmore Girls! Of course I love Lorelai, but I also remember as a bookish kid really loving the fact that Rory was such a bookworm — a character I could relate to πŸ™‚ I remember watching the show with my mom (probably my dad too, but I don’t think he was quite as invested) when the episodes first aired — before DVR and On-Demand and all that, so you had to be parked on the couch the minute it started and if you had to use the bathroom or get a snack or anything, you raced to get it done on a commercial! And heaven forbid you missed an episode, there was no catching-up on the network’s website either! I’ve been thinking about re-watching the series with Netflix, but if I can find them at a decent price, I really would love to have copies for my collection. The other series I remember very fondly from around the same time period is Dr Quinn Medicine Woman — I think it’s pretty remarkable how good some of the more family-friendly shows were back then. I don’t think I could name a single one that’s on now that would be comparable.

    So sorry to hear you’re still having dental issues — I can only imagine the frustration you must feel knowing that even your dentists are stumped — I hope you are feeling better soon!

    • It was great that Rory was so bookish! Got quite a few book ideas from watching that show! We’ve got all 7 seasons and it’s great having them on dvd to watch whenever we want. I LOVED Dr Quinn when it was on and have a lot of fond memories of that show but strangely don’t know that I could watch it now. I don’t think there are many good family shows like that anymore. The closest I’ve come (and it’s still not as good) is Hart of Dixie.

      Thanks! I’m getting a second opinion tomorrow so hopefully that will shed some light!

      • I just had to pop back over to this Gilmore Girls conversation, because I decided it was a sign that I should order the complete series instead of borrowing from Netflix when I saw it on sale for $69.99 in the US Amazon store, which is like ridiculously cheap considering the list price — and even cheap for Amazon’s normal price when I first looked it up. Can’t wait to re-watch these favorites πŸ™‚ Hope your teeth are feeling better!

      • Ooh, the entire series! You’ve got some quality boxset marathons ahead of you there! Enjoy! πŸ™‚ And what a bargain! You really had no choice but to buy it! πŸ˜‰ Well, unfortunately I’m having to get a wisdom tooth out next Thursday now so fingers crossed that FINALLY solves the problem!

      • Good luck! I had all four of mine out right before I started college, and while it’s not fun getting it done (I totally looked like a chipmunk for a few days from the swelling), but they can’t cause any more problems after they’re gone!

      • Thanks! They’re not entirely sure getting this tooth out will solve the problem but I’m keeping my fingers crossed! This has been a long 3 months!!

  3. I love Jane Austen! Have you ever seen the movie Lost in Austen? That was a pretty good one. πŸ™‚
    I wish I had a good (or any) tv series on DVD, that sounds like a lot of fun, and a good distraction from your teeth! My teeth are pretty sore at the moment too, because I used to have braces and after braces you are supposed to wear a retainer to keep your teeth in place, but I sort of “forgot” over the holidays period. And so when I put it in again the other night, man that was painful! But I guess I only have myself to blame, unlike you. I hope they sort it out soon. πŸ™‚

    • No, I’ve not seen that I’ll have to check it out! I am pretty addicted to my boxsets – they’re just the best thing if you’re needing a distraction! Thanks, I got a second opinion this morning and they’ve given me antibiotics so fingers crossed! πŸ™‚ Hopefully your teeth ease off soon too! πŸ™‚

  4. Oh, so sorry to hear that your dentals problems aren’t resolved yet. 😦 My go-to distractions are re-reading the Harry Potter books and/or watching the movies, and binge-watching TV favorites like Buffy the Vampire Slayer or Veronica Mars. I hope you find some good, fun ways to take your mind off things!

  5. Yes! Gilmore Girls is my go-to when I want to relax. I own all the seasons and have watched them over and over again – much to my husband’s annoyance. Hope you fell better soon!

  6. Glad to see your post! Hope your dental problems will be resolved soon… I’ve not heard of the Gilmore Girls but it sounds like the perfect stress relief. I’ll have to check into it! When I’m stressed out, I find comfort in reading biographies of interesting people. One of my favorites was a biography of Margot Fonteyn!

  7. I hope your dental problems have worked themselves out by now. I, too, am lucky to have a mouth that perplexes the dentist on a regular basis. (I grind my teeth like mad, I actually destroy one mouth guard a year while I sleep.) As we’ve discussed before, running is my stress reliever. I’m running about 30 miles a week in preparation for the L.A. Marathon in March. Feeling more relaxed… And having worked for Warners Brothers in the past, I’ve actually been to “Stars Hollow”; I just searched my photo album to see if I had any pictures I could send to cheer you up, but I can’t find a single one. Guess I was too in awe.

    • I’m not completely out the woods with my dental issues but it’s definitely doing a lot better so I’m hopeful there’s light at the end of the tunnel, thanks! I have been trying to get back to running more but it really depends on how my teeth are feeling on the day. You’ve worked for Warner Brothers and been to Stars Hollow! Wow!! I am so jealous on both fronts! What did you do for Warner Brothers?

Leave a Reply

