Crown of Midnight: At last a sequel that doesn’t disappoint!

Crown of Midnight was one of my most highly anticipated Christmas reads. I hadn’t been allowed to buy it as it was on my Christmas list and for months had to endure the torture of seeing it on the shelves whenever I went into a bookshop or read raving review after raving review without being able to read it myself. It was a very tough time. However, after my recent sequel experience with Allegiant and last year with Dead Ever After, there was a part of me that was a bit nervous when I finally had the chance to pick up Crown of Midnight and dive in. Thankfully the book gods were smiling down and I was fortunate enough to find a sequel that was not only every bit as good as the first book but maybe, just maybe, even a wee bit better!

Crown of Midnight picks up where the truly outstanding Throne of Glass left off – Celaena Sardothien, also known as Adarlan’s Assassin, has won the competition to become The King’s Champion and managed to fight off an evil creature from another dimension to boot. She now has the ‘lovely’ task of being the tool  used to dispatch the King’s enemies before she can hope to win her freedom for good. Of course, there may be a few other complications thrown in like the fact that rather than kill the King’s enemies she’s helping them to fake their deaths and flee the kingdom, and if the King found out, he’d kill her. And those she cares about. There’s the handsome Crown Prince, Dorian who has an unexpected twist of his own to deal with in this book and the man that makes me wish it were possible to marry fictional characters, Chaol. And, of course, if that wasn’t enough to deal with there’s the small matter of a potential uprising against the King and the fact that Celeana has been tasked by the dead Queen, Elena to track down the true source of the King’s power before he can become even more powerful and basically destroy the world. Not much going on eh? 😉

I’ve never been on a rollercoaster in my life but I imagine I know what it feels like after reading this book because by the time I finished, my nerves were shot, I had a crazed, wild look in my eyes and the only thing I could say was ‘Oh my God!’ over and over again. I LOVED this book! Sarah J Maas has a real gift in making you think you know where certain plotlines are going then taking a sudden turn in a totally different direction that you just never see coming. There are just non-stop twists and turns in this book and absolutely nothing is as it seems. Each of the main characters, Celaena, Dorian and Chaol have their own things to deal with and each has to deal with the sometimes epic consequences of certain decisions that they make.

There is not a dull moment to be found anywhere in this story and not one of the characters has a weaker storyline than the others. Though, of course, as in Throne of Glass, Celaena is the true star. My friend recently finished the first book and said that Celaena was her favourite YA heroine, even over Katniss. It was close for me but after reading this book, I’d have to agree. No one can match Celaena after this! No one! There are certain scenes in this book where, for reasons I won’t disclose here in case you’ve not read it, she is completely unleashed and waaaay off the reservation, and it is an amazing thing to behold! Wow, is the only word to describe those scenes!

I’d thought that after finishing this one I’d be moving straight on to the next much anticipated read of, World After but truth be told, I think I need a bit of a breather from all this excitement and need time to calm down a bit so for the sake of my nerves, I might look for something a wee bit calmer!

Have you read Crown of Midnight? What did you think?

And, of course, are you Team Chaol or Team Dorian?

 

P.S. I haven’t been the best lately at commenting on other people’s blogs and I apologise! I’ve been very lucky with my holidays from work and have just been so busy that I’ve not had much chance to read other blogs. I’m back at work and back to the real world tomorrow though so I promise I’ll be a better blogging friend again! 🙂

4 thoughts on “Crown of Midnight: At last a sequel that doesn’t disappoint!

  1. Your review was spot on! I didn’t like Throne of Glass thaaaaaat much… I thought it was good but only mediocre and in the center of the pack as far as YA fantasies go. But Celaena is such an amazing heroine that I bought Crown of Midnight.

    And I’m so glad I did. It was infinitely better than Throne of Glass and now I can’t wait for Heir of Fire.

    And of course Team Chaol all the way.

    • Apologies for the late reply – I’ve not had much chance for blogging for a few months! Crown of Midnight was amazing and Heir of Fire is a perfect third book! I can’t wait until the next one and have been having major withdrawal symptoms since finishing it! Hope you enjoyed it!

Leave a Reply

