Christmas Book Haul 2013

Well, I have managed to roll myself off the couch and stop gobbling festive treats long enough to come and check in with all you lovely people. πŸ™‚ I hope if you were celebrating Christmas that you had a wonderful day and Santa blessed you with all the books you were hoping for. For my part, it was a lovely day spent with family and I managed quite successfully (for the most part) to avoid the temptation to just sit staring at the shiny new books I was lucky enough to receive, while I tried to decide which to read first.

I was over the moon with the books I found awaiting me under the tree on Christmas morning. They were…

Christmas haul 2013

1. Unbreakable by Kami Garcia

This was a book that I’ve read mixed reviews about in the blogosphere but when I saw a review on Amazon where someone said it was basically Supernatural without the Winchester brothers, I knew I had to read this book. I am a Supernatural fan of epic proportions. The story tells of Kennedy who after finding her mother dead is later saved from an evil spirit sent to kill her by identical demon hunting twins, Jared and Lukas. I’m pretty sure it’s inevitable that there’ll be a love triangle in this one but I am partial to attractive demon hunters (Dean Winchester is a top tv boyfriend) so I’m prepared to overlook it and enjoy the overall story.

2. Three Things You Need to Know About Rockets by Jessica Fox

This book is a fantasy come true for many of us bookaholics because it tells the true story of Jessica Fox, a young filmaker working for NASA, who takes the plunge to totally change her life by moving to Scotland (obviously a woman of taste and intelligence. πŸ˜‰ ) and opening up a second-hand bookshop. She wants to open her shop in WigtownΒ which is Scotland’s national booktown and has more than 20 book-related businesses. Seriously both sides of the main street and several other streets are lined with bookshop after bookshop. It’s a place I’ve visited many times and as someone who dreams of their own bookshop someday (though mine will be in Paris!), this story was a must-read for me.

3. World After by Susan Ee

This was one of two books that I was crossing all my fingers and toes would be waiting for me on Christmas morning and I’m sorry to say if it hadn’t been there, it’s likely that there would have a tantrum which would have put any toddler to shame. This is, of course, the sequel to one of my favourite reads of 2013, Angelfall,Β and I have been dying to read this. The survivors of the angel apocalypse are trying to rebuild, Penryn’s sister, Paige is kidnapped by people who think she’s a monster and Raffe is searching for his wings… I’m getting all hyper and excited even just writing the synopsis!

4. Crown of Midnight by Sarah J Maas

Another of the ones that I was desperate to get my hands on this Christmas and the noise that escaped me when I opened it was a cross between a ‘Woo hoo’ and a squeal that only dogs could hear. The sequel to the truly epic Throne of GlassΒ featuring one of the most bad-ass characters in recent literary history, and also the one that I have the most trouble spelling, Celaena Sardothien. At the end of Throne of Glass, Celanea has just fought her way to victory in a competition to become King’s champion. What will she fight for now? The cruel and evil King or the innocent people in the kingdom? Oooh, the tension!

5. Allegiant by Veronica Roth

I had no choice but to wait for Christmas for the last book in the DivergentΒ trilogy because my best friend and I had an arrangement where we would wait until we could both read it at the same time. For that reason, this was ultimately the book from my Christmas haul that I chose to start first. I’ve gone into this with low expectations because I know there’s a lot of hatred towards the ending. So far, while I’m not sure why Veronica Roth decided suddenly to go with alternating POVs for this one, I am enjoying it but I’m proceeding with caution.

6. Let Me Off At The Top by Ron Burgundy

An autobiography written by Will Ferrell’s AnchormanΒ – do I really need to explain why I wanted to read this one? πŸ™‚

 

So what about you? What bookish goodies did you find under your tree?

Did you get the books you wanted?

26 thoughts on “Christmas Book Haul 2013

  1. I see World After!!! I can’t wait to see what you think of it! Two words: pookie bear πŸ˜‰

    And I was gifted the book I had been begging for as well – These Broken Stars! I’m already 1/4 through ^.^

  2. Don’t be so afraid of Allegiant. I think the problem was that people expected something different, maybe a more action driven book. The story this time is more reflective, about Tris’s thoughts and ideas on society. If you can get past the “there is no epic battle at the end”, I think it’s a pretty interesting ending. And I’ll check your blog later to see if the Kami Garcia book is worth it since I read Beautiful Creatures and I liked it.

    • I’m very glad to hear that because I loved this series so much I’d hate to be disappointed with the last one. I think the Kami Garcia one should be good. I’ve not read the Beautiful Creatures series yet but I’ll probably move on to that if I like this one.

  3. I really want to read Allegiant as well, but I didn’t want to buy it because I was worried about not liking it, although I feel slightly better now after reading the above comment. πŸ™‚
    You are so lucky to have books on Christmas, my books were ordered online and didn’t arrive in time, so I had to actually talk to people on Christmas (I did end up stealing somebody else’s Christmas book though!)

    • Yes, I feel better about Allegiant now too! Your books didn’t arrive? Oh no, how terrible! And you actually had to talk to real people? Shudder! Well done on stealing someone else’s book though! πŸ˜‰

  4. I actually want to read Angelfall again. The first time I did, I didn’t give it justice. The book was good but I ended up skimming the pages because I’m so impatient. I have decided to dropped the Divergent series on my list. The first time I read it (2011), I was totally hooked but after waiting for a year for the next book, I forgot it exists. I finally decided to read the whole series a few days ago since the movie is expected next year. However, the second time I read it, it was disappointing and boring. I tried reading Insurgent but that too bored me so decided to just dropped the whole series.

    • It’s a shame that you didn’t enjoy the series as much the second time around. I hate it when that happens. Re-reading is a risky business! I’m not too sure about the movie. I don’t think it’s been cast well but I’ll probably give it a shot anyway.

    • Yes, I was very lucky this year with the books I got! πŸ™‚ Yeah, there should be a button down the right side of the blog for an email subscription. Unless I’m having technical glitches again!

  5. Oddly enough, one of my best friends was over last night and we not only had a conversation about the last book in the Divergent trilogy, but also about Supernatural, which I’ve never seen. (Oh, the shame, I know…)
    Do you know what happens in that last book? Obviously you know that people are upset about the ending, but…
    I asked her what happened in it (surprisingly, I’m the one that got her interested in those books forever after I read the first one), and because I typically prefer spoilers, she told me. I was…..not a happy girl, I’ll say that much.

    I’d never heard of that Angelfall book, but I will check it out. Don’t know when I’ll get around to reading it, but hopefully at some point!
    πŸ™‚

    You know…there really isn’t much better in the world than a stack of new, pristine books.

    • A lovely new stack of books is definitely one of life’s pleasures. πŸ™‚ Never seen Supernatural?? Gasp! It’s maybe not as good as it used to be but it’s still worth a watch.

      Angelfall was one of the best books I read this year so looking forward to reading the sequel.

      No, I’ve managed to avoid spoilers thankfully. I like to be surprised. πŸ™‚

      • That it is! Especially when they’re gifts. ESPECIALLY when they’re gifts AND books you want. πŸ˜€

        I know, I know. It’s horrible that I’ve never seen Supernatural. I really do want to watch it (that’s saying nothing about Jensen Ackles), but I’m kind of a big baby with creepy things. I’m totally fine with creepiness in books, but whew. Not TV and movies. I still plan on watching it at some point though. Maybe when I can find a bit of time!

        I bookmarked the page for Angelfall so that I can remember what it was when I’m not so broke! (I have a HORRIBLE memory…)

        I’m glad you’ve managed to avoid spoilers for that if you like surprises. You’ll definitely be…..surprised. Being one to hate surprises, I’m SO GLAD she told me what happened.
        lol

  6. I just received Allegiant from the library and must hurry and read it because I was on hold at the library FOREVER trying to get it … and I have a feeling that will happen again if I have to return it before reading it.

Leave a Reply

