2013 End of the Year Book Survey

end of year book survey 2013

I’ve seen a lot of bloggers tackle this survey, created by the lovely Jamie over at The Perpetual Page Turner, and to be honest, while I’ve enjoyed reading their responses I was a little nervous to tackle this myself. Partly because I thought my head would explode trying to decide between all the books I’ve read this year and partly because as a new blogger I’ve never done a linky post before and wasn’t sure I’d know what I was doing. But today I thought to myself, what the hell, why not be madcap and crazy, and give it a go!  I’ve trimmed some of the questions- sorry Jamie – but with my tendency to ramble we could be here all day if I included them all! Who am I kidding, we probably still will! lol

1. Best Book You Read In 2013? (If you have to cheat — you can break it down by genre if you want or 2013 release vs. backlist)

I’m sitting here mentally sorting through book after book and I can hear the Jeopardy music counting down in the background. What to choose, what to choose?? Okay, I’m going to cheat a little. I’m not going to break them down into genre because I don’t really know what genre the first one would be in but these are joint best book. If on a winter’s night a traveller by Italo Calvino is a totally unique story that you really have to concentrate on but is so well written that it’s worth the work! And to soothe my brain after that mental workout, I’d have to choose chick-lit for the period drama fan and The Summer of Living Dangerously by Julie Cohen.

2. Book You Were Excited About & Thought You Were Going To Love More But Didn’t?

No question this has to be the last True Blood, Dead Ever After by Charlaine Harris. I don’t know why I got my hopes up when the two before it were rubbish but I had faith that Charlaine would pull it out the bag at the last minute. Sadly she let me down. 😦

3. Most surprising (in a good way!) book of 2013? 

Definitely Angelfall by Susan Ee. I’d never read a self-published book before and had no idea what to expect, although the fact this had been so successful online it had sold millions should have given me a clue! Totally sucked me in from the very first page and didn’t let go until the end when I was practically tearing my hair out with the knowledge I’d have to wait for the sequel! I was also surprised given I can’t cook and have never been interested in cooking that I loved My Life in France by Julia Child.

4. Book you read in 2013 that you recommended to people most in 2013?

Probably Throne of Glass by Sarah J Maas. I tried to win it for a friend in a competition, I tried to get my brother to read it, I bought it for my friend’s birthday…everyone should read this book. And read it now!

5. Best series you discovered in 2013?

Hmmm… the Throne of Glass series could fit in here as well and I’d have to add Siege and Storm by Leigh Bardugo and the Chicagoland Vampires by Chloe Neill.

6. Favorite new author you discovered in 2013?

Favourite new author? These questions are hard, Jamie! I’d have to say it was a three-way tie between Kristin Cashore, Jenny Colgan and Alice Steinbach. Three very different women and very different styles to appeal to the randomness of my reading tastes.

7. Best book that was out of your comfort zone or was a new genre for you?

Again I’m cheating and going with 2 books for this – Wicked Autumn by G.M Malliet was my first foray into the world of the village cozy mystery genre. With a former MI5 agent turned local vicar of a small English town investigating the death of the head of the Women’s Institute, what’s not to love? Also, Running Like a Girl by Alexandra Hemisley. If you’d told me a year ago I’d voluntarily buy a running memoir, albeit a funny one, I’d have laughed in your face but this was both hilarious and inspiring.

8. Most thrilling, unputdownable book in 2013?

Hands down – Angelfall!

9. Book You Read In 2013 That You Are Most Likely To Re-Read Next Year?

Hmm…probably Days of Blood and Starlight by Laini Taylor to prepare myself for the next in the series which I am uber excited for!

10. Favorite cover of a book you read in 2013?

This would probably be Days of Blood and Starlight again. Isn’t it pretty???

days of blood and starlight11. Most memorable character in 2013? 

I loved Celeana from Throne of Glass!! She was a total badass and I loved that she never lost that throughout the book! No wussing out for her!

12. Most beautifully written book read in 2013?

I think this would be The Man Who Rained by Ali Shaw. A beautiful, magical modern-day fairytale. This was my first read of 2013 and it got the year’s reading off to a great start!

13. Book you can’t believe you waited UNTIL 2013 to finally read? 

Vampire Academy by Richelle Mead. Seriously with the amount of time I’ve devoted to vampire stories over the years it defies all logic why I had never read this one before!

14. Shortest & Longest Book You Read In 2013?

From what I can see on the bookshelves from where I’m sitting, I’d say the shortest was A Moveable Feast by Ernest Hemingway – if you love Paris, the 20s, Midnight in Paris or literary greats then this is the book for you! The longest was The Name of the Wind by Patrick Rothfuss.

15. Book That Had A Scene In It That Had You Reeling And Dying To Talk To Somebody About It? (a WTF moment, an epic revelation, a steamy kiss, etc. etc.) Be careful of spoilers!

Definitely  Hard Bitten by Chloe Neill. The end of this left me in total shock! If you’ve read this book, email me I NEED to talk about what happened!

16. Favorite Relationship From A Book You Read In 2013 (be it romantic, friendship, etc).

Another tie between Chaol and Celaena from Throne of Glass, Dimitri and Rose from Vampire Academy, and Fire and Brigand from Fire.

17. Favorite Book You Read in 2013 From An Author You’ve Read Previously

I’d say this would have to be Eve Green by Susan Fletcher. It wasn’t just as good as The Silver Dark Sea but still a wonderfully subtle yet powerful story.

18. Newest fictional crush from a book you read in 2013?

Definitely has to be Dimitri from Vampire Academy! Angst ridden? Check! Dark and mysterious? Check! Tattoos? Check! If only I could find one of him under my tree this Christmas! Sigh…

19. Most vivid world/imagery in a book you read in 2013?

I think that would probably be either The Enchanted April by Elizabeth Von Arnim where I was completely transported to a medieval castle in the Italian Riveria, All Roads Lead to Austen by Amy Elizabeth Smith where I travelled South America with Amy or Angelfall where I was immediately in the thick of the action. Oooh, or Take a Look at Me Now by Miranda Dickinson which took me back to my beloved San Francisco! 🙂

So what do you think of my choices?

What would your choices  be?

15 thoughts on “2013 End of the Year Book Survey

    • I wouldn’t be rushing to read Dead Ever After if you’ve got anything better to read! It was good to finish off the series but a major disappointment after 13 books! Usually we don’t get the nicest covers in the UK but I do love that one! 🙂

  1. Throne of Glass — Siege and Storm!!
    I haven’t read Angelfall — somehow the description doesn’t call to me and angel books are not usually my favorite, but so many people have said it’s good that I may have to reconsider.

    • I wasn’t sure about it before I read it either but it’s not your typical angel book and it really does suck you in from the first page. Think of it as more of dystopian book which just happens to have angels in it!

    • Throne of Glass is just great! I can’t wait to read the sequel. I keep meaning to get into audio books so I can listen to them while I run so I’ll be sure to try those ones in audio book.

  2. Oh goodness I’m seriously going to have to pick up a few of these. Ok Throne of Glass I picked up in 2013 so I really should read it stat! And Chloe Neil and darn Vampire Academy. So many books I want to read and so little time ahhhh!!

    • You won’t be disappointed with Throne of Glass! It is excellent and I am super excited to read the sequel at Christmas! Vampire Academy was new to me this month, or maybe it was last month who knows, but it’s definitely a series I’ll be going back to. I know what you mean – since I’ve started blogging I’ve seen one book after another after another that I want to get! I don’t know when I’m going to have time for anything else! 🙂

  3. So many good books here- Throne of Glass, Siege and Storm, A Moveable Feast and I can’t WAIT to read Angelfall! I didn’t know it’s self-published too. That’s incredible that so many copies of it have been sold! I hope you enjoy Crown of Midnight, it’s so great! 🙂

    • I’m so excited to read Crown of Midnight! I recently got my best friend to read Throne of Glass and she loved it. Though we might have had a slight disagreement about Dorian vs Chaol. 🙂 You’ll love Angelfall! Its such a great book!

  4. Pingback: End of the Year Book Survey | The Starlight Shelves

Leave a Reply

