The dreaded reading slump…:-(

Today I have been forced to admit that I find myself in one of the most dreaded places for a bookaholic to be – the reading slump. ๐Ÿ˜ฆ It started with Hard Bitten (see review), continued with The Fixer Upper which I thought would be a nice, predictable but entertaining story of a lobbyist from DC who gets caught up in a scandal and escapes to a small, Southern town to fix up, and sell a house left to her father in a will. There were, of course, your usual cast of small town quirky characters and the inevitable love interest which is exactly what I was looking for. Unfortunately, even though the main character was supposed to be an intelligent, professional career woman, what she turned out to be was a infuriatingly naive idiot whose complete inability to see what was happening in front of her made me want to scream in frustration. The fact that her best friends also couldn’t get through a sentence without saying ‘like’ every 2 seconds was, like, really annoying! So long story short it was bye bye to the Fixer Upper before I’d even gone half-way and hello to Time’s Echo.

Time’s Echo is a time-slip story which tells of Grace, a woman returning to York to sell a house left to her in a will (can you see a trend here?) and who finds herself reliving the experiences of a woman from Tudor times who was drowned as a witch. Now so far, it’s not been a bad book exactly and I do want to know what happens but the characters just aren’t gripping me, I don’t feel any real connection to them and I’m not entirely sure if it’s a reincarnation or posession type scenario we’re dealing with. I will persevere but I am starting to feel the sadness that comes with lack of contact with a really good book to obsess over. ๐Ÿ˜ฆ

Reading is such a huge part of my life – it’s one of the things that gives me the greatest sense of peace and happiness, it can soothe me after a tough day at work, it can help me escape from reality for a while, it can teach me things,ย  fire up my imagination, provide book boyfriends and connects me to other lovely bookaholics such as yourselves. So when I find myself in a reading slump, reading one dull and/or rubbish book after another, it really feels like there is something missing. I stare listlessly at my bookshelves and am torn between wondering whether the books on my TBR pile will also let me down, and hoping that one of them will provide reading salvation, making the world a happy place again. Have I mentioned I have a tendency to be melodramatic? ๐Ÿ™‚

So to try and cling to that hope of a happy reading future I thought I’d focus on some of the many new series that I’ve come across since starting blogging. Finding the perfect series to fall in love with can be as comforting as curling up on the couch on a cold winter’s day with a cosy blanket and a cup of hot chocolate. ย You know that some books in the series might be better than others but, in general, you can be pretty confident that you’re in safe hands. I’ve been thrilled to add several new potential obsessions to my Amazon wishlist lately. They would be…

  1. Vampire Academy by Richelle Mead – I was lucky enough to have my friend win this for me (thanks, Carla!) in a giveaway so I’ve at least got this to look forward to!
  2. The Outlander series by Diana Gabaldon – I’ve heard so many people almost hyperventilate with excitement over this series and with a new tv version coming in the future I need to get caught up on this one!
  3. The Covenant series by Jennnifer Armentrout – Children of gods and mortals, demons, totally hot potential book crushes…. how could I not want to read this series??
  4. The Kate Daniels series by Ilona Andrews – Magic, shapeshifters and blood-crazed vampires… count me in!

How do you all deal with the dreaded reading slump?

Do you have any other suggestions for new series that I MUST try?

23 thoughts on “The dreaded reading slump…:-(

  1. I hate when that happens! I usually seek comfort by re-reading one of my favorite books… or even just a part of the book. Then, in a better frame of mind, I can move on to something new. Good luck!

  2. I’m RIGHT THERE, too, and it’s driving me crazy. I’ll pick up a book, read a quarter or a half of it and then put it down…never to be picked up again. I can’t for the life of me find a book that I don’t want to put down, can’t put down, until I’m done. But thank goodness for upcoming releases that I KNOW are going to rock because they’re from authors who haven’t let me down yet. And, yes, Ilona Andrews is definitely on that list.

    • So I’m not the only one? It really is so frustrating isn’t it? You’re right though, thank goodness we have upcoming releases to look forward to and new series to discover! Hopefully one of those will save us from this dreary reading slump! Glad to hear another recommendation for Ilona Andrews! ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. I’m sorry to hear your in a slump! I know how frustrating that is. I find that re-reading favorite books can help break a slump. You KNOW you love the book and that you won’t be disappointed by it. That usually helps me feel enthusiastic about reading again.

    I hope you break out of your reading slump soon!

  4. Maybe you need to mix it up and go for something completely different? A genre you wouldn’t normally consider or just go into a book shop and pick something at random. Of course that can end up backfiring and making you feel even worse if you end up picking something awful. But it’s a technique that’s worked for me a few times.

    Or failing that you could go with the (very sensible) suggestions everyone else has made and read something you know you love and that won’t disappoint you!

    • I really like the idea of going for a completely different genre but my best friend has forbidden me from buying any books before Christmas so I’m pretty sure she’s got me one (don’t know what though!). She’s 7 months pregnant so I don’t want to mess with her! lol

      I think it might have to be the re-read but we’ll see what Vampire Academy has in store for me! ๐Ÿ™‚

  5. This definitely happens to all of us! I find it easiest to just keep reading until I push through it, but when that’s impossible (if I simply can’t focus on anything, even on audio), I do something else for two days and then I try again.
    Rereading old favorites also helps sometimes.
    I hope you’ll find a way around it soon.

  6. Reading slumps suck! I was stuck in one for a while during the summer. I think the main thing is to take a break from reading. Pick it up when you feel that itching urge again ๐Ÿ™‚ But the covenant series is great, if you’re looking for a light fun read maybe pick up J.L. Armentrout’s other series, the Lux series.

    • I’m really enjoying it so far! I don’t want to jinx it but I think the reading slump might be over! Woo hoo! I’ll really need to get a hold of the first Outlander book. I’ve heard so many good things about the series!

  7. Pingback: Top 10 Reasons I love being a blogger/reader | Confessions of a Book Ninja

Leave a Reply

