Ghosts of Christmas Past, Present and Future

Now that we’re into December many of us are now focused on decking the halls and taking part in whatever our own unique family traditions are. For me this involves discussions on how best to decorate the tree, usually degenerating into heated debates on where exactly someone can shove the bauble that Aunty Molly got us, trying to convince my 37 yr old brother that it’s okay for us not to pretend the presents in our stockings come from Santa now, and watching A Christmas Carol.

This got me thinkingย  about Christmases past, present and future. I’m sure it will be a total shock that my presents tend to be books, films andย  film/book related gifts like the Shadowhunter t-shirt that if my parents are reading this better be there this year! ๐Ÿ™‚

Christmas Past

Growing up there was one movie that absolutely HAD to be watched. It didn’t matter how many times we’d watched it, or that I could re-enact the entire movie or that my parents were probably ready to jump off the roof if they had to watch it one more time, this one had to go on. That movie was Santa Claus: The Movie. Seeing Dudley Moore as the elf Patch, heading off to New York believing that Santa didn’t like him anymore, getting caught up with the evil toy manufacturer and trying to revolutionise Christmas got me every time. Would Santa and those annoying children manage to convince Patch to come home???

Over the years book presents included Little Women – a beautiful edition my mum won in Sunday School as a little girl – The Little Vampire (my taste for the paranormal started early!), Charlie and the Chocolate Factory(so did my taste for chocolate!) and the Mallory Towers series. Some of these books I still have, others I lost sight of over the years but I’ll never forget the experience of reading them all for the first time.

Christmas Present

This year in terms of Christmas films there are two new-ish additions in the form of Arthur Christmas a hilarious animation starring one of my dream husbands (and yes I know he’s already married!) James McAvoy and Rise of the Guardians which stars another of my dream husbands, Chris Pine (I don’t think he’s already married?). Present wise, I’m fully expecting Man of Steel this year. Given the amount of drool and impure thoughts that might occur when watching that I might watch it on my own or with friends rather than the parentals. ๐Ÿ˜‰

In terms of books, I am keeping all my fingers and toes crossed that Santa will bring Crown of Midnight, World After, Allegiant and A Fatal Winter. And I’m not going to lie, if they’re not there on Christmas morning there may be a slight tantrum or two. ๐Ÿ™‚

Christmas Future

Obviously this is tough to predict given we don’t know all the incredible stuff that might come out in 2014 !ย  Two things I know for sure though is that at some point next year, whether it’s birthday, Christmas or just because I want it, I WILL get Dreams of Gods and Monsters and The Originals, season 1 boxset because Klaus is a truly horrible but awesome character and I’m a teeny bit in love with Elijah. ๐Ÿ™‚

What about you? Any favourite gifts or Christmas experiences from the past?

What are you hoping to find under your tree this year?

11 thoughts on “Ghosts of Christmas Past, Present and Future

  1. One of my best Christmas memories is of getting the first three Harry Potter books for Christmas. I had read them all multiple times (Azkaban only twice as it had only been out 2 months!) but the excitement of having my own copies rather than hoarding the library ones was fantastic. I got some really great presents that year including a PC for my sister and I but my strongest memory is of me in my nightie curled up on the chair with the books, a selection box and a cup of tea (I started my tea early).

    The other staple of Christmas for me is Oor Wullie and The Broons which my wee Granny has faithfully purchased every year for me since I can remember. Christmas wouldn’t be the same without it. Or some Die Hard (yes it is a Christmas movie!)

    This year I doubt Santa will leave many actual books under the Christmas tree for me as he knows how crazy I am about buying books in perfect condition but I think he might see his way to facilitating a purchase or two through some nice Waterstones vouchers. Meantime I will just keep stocking up my wishlist…

    • Ah, Oor Wullie! I always used to get a copy of that too! Yes, I don’t think Santa would take the risk of getting you books but I’m sure we’ll be on a book buying trip to Waterstones in the New Year with some vouchers! ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. My Christmas film of the past was always Oliver! We’d watch it at least three times at school and then it was always on at home as well and I can’t stand it! My mum swears blind that she never made us watch it but my brother and I remember things differently…

    These days my must-watch at Christmas is Olive the Other Reindeer which is a really cute cartoon about a dog who thinks she’s actually a reindeer and sets out to save Christmas by pulling Santa’s sleigh. It’s not always on though so I may have to invest in the DVD…

      • I think it’s probably a good story (I can’t quite bring myself to read the book) it’s just that the film is so twee and Oliver himself always made me feel a bit sick…

        Olive on the other hand is wonderful so you should definitely try to find it ๐Ÿ˜‰

    • That would be a nice present! The Nightmare before Christmas is a great movie! I’ve not seen that in so long! I might just have to go watch that when I get home now! ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. Every year my aunt and uncle would give me a Peanuts ornament (started in 1978). Some years I’d end up with two or three ornaments per year. Now we have a tree that’s covered in all kind kinds of Peanuts ornaments in various forms — some ceramic, some plastic, and a couple round ones made of silk. Makes me smile every year.

    • What a lovely family tradition! It’s great to see all the special ornaments like that. My parents started getting my brother and I one new ornament every year when we left home but its always nice to go home and see the ornaments from years worth of Christmases.

Leave a Reply

