Decisions, decisions – what to read next??

For bookaholics surrounded by piles of books, an Amazon wishlist a mile long and the constant temptation to add just one more book to the list after reading another excellent review in the blogosphere, one of the most difficult decisions we face is what to read next. How can we possibly choose – do we choose the latest instalment of a favourite series or do we choose the classic we’ve had sitting on the shelf for months because it’s been on every Must Read Before You Die list since the dawn of time? Do we want something that makes us laugh or do we want something that gets us pumped to go out there and do battle with whatever forces of evil are threatening the literary world that day?

No bookaholic wants to enter a dreaded reading slump so the decision on what to read next is one which must be dealt with very, very carefully. There are a lot of questions that we must sort through as we navigate the choppy waters, for example…

1. What kind of mood are we in? – If we’ve had a long day at work where there’s been one disaster after another, deadlines are approaching fast and colleagues have been so frustrating that we’re left questioning whether violence is always wrong, do we want something escapist and hopeful like Meet Me at the Cupcake Cafe by Jenny Colgan where Issy, recently redundant from a mind-numbingly boring job, tries to turn her love of cupcakes into a career? Or do we want some action where we can vent our frustrations vicariously through characters like Celaena in Throne of Glass by Sarah J Maas as she battles other criminals to become the Champion?

2. Have friends recommended any books to us? – Book recommendations from a friend can be tricky. If the recommendation is good, then our friendships can become even stronger as we’re bonded through the shared reading experiences of Harry battling Lord Voldemort or wondering whether Katniss will choose Peeta or Gale (for the record, I’m Team Peeta!) but if the recommendation is really bad then it can have us looking at our friend and wondering if they were dropped on their head as a small child or how well they really know us. The trust between one bookaholic and another can be shaken by such a bad recommendation.

3. Have we recently heard of a good book in a tv show/film/series? – In the Jane Austen Book Clubย one of the characters reads The Mysteries of Udolpho by Ann Radcliffe after it was mentioned in Northanger Abbeyย and I have to admit to doing the exact same thing. If there’s a character that I like then I seem to think that if they like a book then there’s a good chance that I will too. It’s why I read The Mysteries of Udolpho myself and it’s why during my angst-ridden, feminist, attempt to be a indie-chick in my late teens/early 20’s, I read The Bell Jar by Sylvia Plath after seeing Julia Stile’s character in Ten Things I Hate About You reading it.

4. Where are we going to be reading? – If you’re trying to choose a book for a beach holiday or relaxing in a quiet, countryside getaway then you’re probably not going to want to take something like Schindler’s Ark by Thomas Keneally. Reading about a German industrialist risking his lives to save the Jews who worked for him during WW2 might not be entirely appropriate while you’re lying on a sun lounger sipping a mojito. If you’re commuting to work, do you want something epic that you can get lost in and forget you’re going to work, like Game of Thrones by George R R Martin or do you want something that you can dip and in out of easily like the hilarious Mindy Kaling’s Is Everyone Hanging Out Without Me? (And Other Concerns)? Also, for non e-readers, if you’re going to be travelling while you read, do you have to consider how embarrassing looking the cover of your book is?

These are only a small sample of the endless questions that go round and round in the mind of a bookaholic before finally choosing what to read next. And in the end you might actually choose to ignore all of your questions and their answers, and just go for the book that has the coolest/prettiest cover! Sometimes it’s okay to just be shallow for a bit! ๐Ÿ™‚

What about you? How do you choose what to read next?

 

15 thoughts on “Decisions, decisions – what to read next??

  1. Choosing what to read can be so hard! What I should do is quit buying new books and make my why through what I have, but I don’t think I have the discipline for that! Often new & shiny things bump their way to the top of my list and I try to make my review books a priority — always a lot of choices vying for my attention ๐Ÿ™‚

    Thanks for stopping by earlier!

    • Yes, that is definitely a problem I have! Made the mistake of going into a bookshop with a buy one, get one half price offer on a few weeks ago. Did I stop and think ‘you’ve already got 6 books waiting to be read!’ No. I walked out with 2 more to add to the pile! Oh well, at least we’ll have plenty to read when we’re bankrupt! Thanks for stopping by here!

  2. Mood reader. I can tell what I’ll read next in a few seconds or just by looking at something. HOWEVER, mood reading is deceptive, because you think you feel like reading it and half way, you think, um, no, I don’t want to read this actually and you end up with an abandoned pile of books higher than your TBR!

  3. Funny, I’ve got this dilemma right now. I only have about 4 weeks per year of “fun reading,” in between semesters. I’m trying to prioritize my winter holiday reading list. I can’t decide how to decide! My Good Reads “want to read” list is too long. This post reminds me to add Mindy Kaling’s book to it ๐Ÿ™‚

    • I used to hate that when I was studying – so much pressure on making the ‘fun’ books good ones! Mindy Kaling’s book is so funny and easy to read so it would definitely be an enjoyable break from study books! Good luck with your decision making! ๐Ÿ™‚

  4. It often depends on how much time I have… If I know I’m going to be really busy in the days/weeks to come, I stick to poetry and shorter works… or re-reading a favorite book! If I do have more time, though, I go by mood, look through some reviews on Goodreads on the types of books I tend to like. There are just so many books out there…

    • Re-reading is always a good choice if you just can’t decide from your TBR pile. If I’m going travelling and I can’t decide I’ll play safe and take something I know I’m going to enjoy. I’m a big fan of reading reviews before I make my choice too. It really is so hard to choose when there’s so many books out there!

  5. HAHA that’s usually what I do — Ignore everyone’s suggestions and pick something different. That’s usually because I realized I’m not actually in the mood for what I SHOULD be reading and then pick something I WANT to read. It’s tough to pick out your next read!! SOOOO many good books to choose from!

    • It is very, very tough! It’s great there are so many books to choose from but with my short attention span usually when I’m trying to choose between books, another one will catch my eye in an ‘Oooh, shiny new book!’ kind of way and the cycle continues!

Leave a Reply

