Dinner with my Literary BFF’s!

Good morning/afternoon/evening to you all! πŸ™‚

When I was trying to think of what to write today I started thinking about my favourite authors and a chat I had recently about my fantasy literary dinner party. Who exactly would I invite? … Well after much deliberation, I made the final cut and as we’re already talking fantasy land, decided to host it at the bookshop I plan to buy on the Left Bank in Paris when I win the lottery!

Now it wouldn’t be a dinner party without incredible tasty delights and who better to cater than the Queen of French Quisine – Julia Child! Anyone who’s read Julia’s My Life in France will know that she and her husband had amazing dinner parties and were incredibly well-travelled, so between the delicious treats she’d whip up, and stories of her time in other countries, the party would be off to an excellent start!

You couldn’t have a party in Paris without Hemingway and Fitzgerald. At first Fitzgerald would be his usual charming self, we’d no doubt be inundated with stories about Hemingway’s time on Mount Kilimanjaro as well as how he supposedly liberated the Ritz during WW2. There is a chance though that they’d drink the lion’s share of the booze and if Fitzgerald had brought Zelda, given the hatred between her and Hemingway, that things may get a tad tense!

To help relieve the tension we’d have Lauren GrahamΒ  (Gilmore Girls and Someday, Someday Maybe). Incredibly funny with a quick wit and fantastic personality, I have wanted Lauren as my celebrity BFF for years! Her charming rambles would defuse any tension! If not, we could always turn to Noelle Hancock (My Year with Eleanor) who could distract us with stories of her Year of Fear, where she tackled challenges from diving with sharks to flying a plane after being inspired by an Eleanor Roosevelt quotation.

There would also be a range of fantastical types ranging from Leigh Bardugo (Shadow and Bone) who I would quickly bond with over our mutual love of Henry Cavill, Laini Taylor (Daughter of Smoke and Bone) who would definitely stand out in the party photo with her neon pink hair, and Erin Morgenstern (The Night Circus) who would hopefully have a magical story or two up her sleeve.

At the end of the night, when we were all drunk on food, alcohol and good conversation, we could stumble home again carrying some delicious chocolates brought by Jenny Colgan (The Loveliest Chocolate Shop in Paris) who knows all the best chocolate shops in the city! πŸ™‚

Sigh…so who would you want to come to your fantasy literary dinner party?

Have you met any of your favourite authors?

4 thoughts on “Dinner with my Literary BFF’s!

  1. Well it is a fantasy lottery win Carla where the winnings are huge, the money goes further and there are good real estate deals to be had! I don’t believe in realism! πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

