To run or to read?

To run or to read? That is the question! I don’t know about any of you but when the nights start getting darker earlier and the weather is pretty much stuck at cold, wet and windy all the time, my motivation to run isn’t exactly great. All I want to do is hibernate somewhere cosy with a book, some hot chocolate and some ridiculously fattening comfort food!

It doesn’t help that I have some very urgent and important decisions to make either. The Amazon book fairy delivered 3 new books yesterday that are all clamouring for my attention and as we know the decision of which to read first is a very difficult one!

Do I want to read Name of the Wind by Patrick Rothfuss which my friend described to me as Harry Potter goes to university meets Game of Thrones? Or maybe I want to read about Amy Smith’s travels round South America exploring how Jane Austen is enjoyed by book clubs there in All Roads Lead to Austen? And of course, who doesn’t love sexy vampires and werewolves like in Hard Bitten by Chloe Neill?? Who has time to exercise when there’s decisions like that to be made??

But then again, I always regret it if I don’t get my run in. I spend the rest of the night beating myself up for missing the run and wondering if, like with so many other types of exercise, this is a sign that I’m falling off the exercise wagon. That soon, due to a lack of exercise combined with a love of Domino’s Pizza, that they’ll be having to airlift me from the couch before I can leave the house. 😦

I do always feel 10 times better after a run too – the edge is taken off any work stress, I feel more awake, sleep better and generally feel quite smug for having braved the elements to do it! πŸ™‚ Plus this half-marathon in 2014 isn’t going to run itself so I better get on with the training!

I now just have to convince myself that what I really want to do tonight after work involves these…

DSC_0217

And not these…

DSC_0216

Wish me luck!

How about you? Do you find it hard to motivate yourself to exercise in bad weather?

Got any good books lined up to read?

 

8 thoughts on “To run or to read?

    • It reminded me of a real-life South American version of The Jane Austen Bookclub so looking forward to it! No doubt I will end up doing both! πŸ™‚

  1. I always struggle to find exercise motivation in the winter for these exact reasons. I’m always switching up my routine so that I don’t get bored and I’ve found that I like doing workout dvds this time of year so that I don’t have to worry about what it’s like outside and if I go for a run I save it for the weekend. Not sure if you have that option with half-marathon training and all. But don’t let yourself start skipping workouts! If you view it as an option then you’ll get lazy and when you skip you’ll realize how nice it feels to have that extra time hah. Focus on those good feelings you have after you’ve gotten your workout done for the day! One of my favorite fitness quotes is “If it were easy, everyone would be doing it” or some variation of the sort πŸ˜€

    • Thanks for the comment Nicole – great quotation! I managed to force myself to go for a run last night after all and felt great for having done it. Especially when I got home after it, got the heating and the kettle on! πŸ™‚ I’ve fallen off the exercise wagon so many times before but I’m determined not to let it happen this time!

Leave a Reply

