Left my heart in San Francisco!

Sorry for that totally cheesy blog heading but it’s true! I’m almost finished reading Take a Look at Me Now by Miranda Dickinson where our  30-something heroine, Nell, jets off for a two month trip, using her redundancy money, to San Francisco after she loses her job.  There she finds herself, finds a job and of course finds love.  🙂 Now it’s not the most original story in the world, it’s pretty heavy on the cheese and you know before you even read it, roughly what the ending is going to be. Having said all that, I have to admit I’m loving it!

The characters are all really likeable, it’s easy to read and it lets you switch your brain off for a few hours after a hard day. The main reason I’m loving it though is that it’s taken me back to my all-time favourite place – San Francisco! Probably the result of growing up with a constant 60s soundtrack in my parent’s house, I always wanted to go back in time to San Fran to become a hippy, take part in the civil rights movement and study at Berkeley. Unfortunately I haven’t been able to build a time machine yet but I was lucky enough to visit the city a few years back and fell in love with it!

So when Nell is sight-seeing in Union Square, I’m right back there again…

Union Square

When she goes to walk across Golden Gate Bridge and is blown away by the view, I know exactly what she means…

Bridgey

Everything I loved about the city – the totally accepting come-as-you-are attitude of people, the quirky-ness (not sure if that’s a word but it is now!) of the place, the culture and the absolutely amazing food, is all captured perfectly by Miranda Dickinson. With all the wind and the rain that we’ve been having in Scotland lately, it’s been a welcome retreat to get to walk the streets of San Francisco again and enjoy the California sunshine!

And just one last photo…

Berkeley

If you’ve read the book and you’re thinking, ‘Wait, Nell doesn’t go to Berkeley!’ I know that but I just love this pic! 🙂

5 thoughts on “Left my heart in San Francisco!

  1. I love it when you read a book about a city you love where the main character is discovering that city! You are so lucky that you were able to be in that city while you were reading it 🙂
    ps. I love your blog design, it’s lovely

    • It’s one of the things I love most about books! Can be a bit of a shock when you look up from the pages though and find yourself back in the real world! 🙂 Thanks, it took me ages to get the design sorted so much appreciated!

  2. Pingback: Take A Look At Me Now – Miranda Dickinson | Penny Dreadful Books and Reviews

Leave a Reply

