The bestest books in the whole wide world!

Okay so I have a confession to make – I really don’t have a clue what to write about for my first blog post. What could I say to make you stop and say ‘Hey, that is the most fascinating blog I have ever read and I have to follow this girl IMMEDIATELY!’ Probably not much but I’m thinking this is the chance for you to get to know me a little and as books are probably my number one obsession then that’s as good a place to start as any.

cropped-tea.jpg

My taste in books is really random and if you were having a wee nosey at my bookshelves you’d probably be pretty confused. You’d see Emma sitting beside Harry Potter on one shelf; on another Ernest Hemmingway nestled between The Loveliest Chocolate Shop in Paris and The Hunger Games. I will read just about anything and if you buy me a book then you’re my friend for life. Borrow a book from me, lose or damage it and I will hunt you to the ends of the earth. Seriously you better run pretty far and fast!

There are 4 books out of the many I own that truly stand out and are in fact the bestest books in the world. That’s not my opinion, that’s just a fact.

  1. The Book Thief by Markus Zusak – Β  A book narrated by Death about a small girl living with a foster family in Germany during WW2 just didn’t seem like my kind of thing at all but it turned out to be the most beautiful thing I’ve ever read. Reads like poetry and the images are so vivid you get drawn into the story so completely that, like me, you risk missing your stop on the bus/train.
  2. The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Society by Mary-Ann Shaffer and Annie Burrows- Β Apart from the fantastic title, what is amazing is that even though it’s told entirely through letters, you still get a sense of the characters and their lives. Such a lovely, book about a small community on Guernsey during the occupation in WW2. I guarantee that you’ll be sad to see the characters go when you turn that last page.
  3. The Night Circus by Erin Morgenstern – There’s no way to describe this book because it’s like nothing else you’ll ever have read. It tells the story of a circus that appears in the night, from nowhere and is a truly magical experience. It’s pure and utter escapism at its very best and if by the end you’re not dying to go to that circus then there’s something wrong with you.
  4. Harry Potter – any of them – by JK Rowling – Everyone knows who Harry Potter is and if you’ve not read the books then you really need to go out and buy all of them immediately! Trust me, you’ll thank me!
16 thoughts on “The bestest books in the whole wide world!

  1. I will take some small credit for introducing some of those πŸ˜‰ now I just need to see if I really want to go to the circus!

    • Ha ha! Yes, you might have had something to do with me reading some of those! Trust me you’ll be dying to go to the mysterious magical circus! πŸ™‚

  2. I’m not a big “omg that writing is just soooo beautiful” type of person at all. But that was the only way I could describe The Night Circus! It’s just soooo beautifully written! Don’t you just want to wear all black and white with red scarf for the rest of your life???

    • That was exactly how I felt when I read it, Rebecca! It made me want to find that circus immediately and get all decked out in black, white and red! Even the hardback copy of the book with the black rimmed pages and the red ribbon was beautiful… it was all absolutely perfect! πŸ™‚

  3. I might give The Book Thief another chance, because I’ve only read good things, yet when I read a sample of it, I didn’t like it. The Night Circus however is a book I have and I didn’t have time yet to read it. I’m going to have to – Especially now that I’ve learned Rebecca likes it too πŸ™‚

    PS: I agree with your comment about people who damage your books. A friend of mine has books of mine for almost a year now. Every time I ask she says she will bring it. I might have to hunt her down…

    • The Book Thief is definitely worth another try. It took me a while to get into it as well but it was sooo worth persevering! Your friend has had your books for almost a year?? I think hunting her down is definitely in order! A friend of mine borrowed a book from me years ago and ended up spilling tea all over it – thankfully she bought me a new copy so we’re still friends! πŸ™‚

    • I think a school trip would definitely be in order for this one. πŸ™‚ I was a bit nervous when I heard they were doing a film version but the cast is amazing so I think I’ll keep my fingers and toes crossed and go see it!

Leave a Reply

