New Year, New Authors, New Books Blog Hop

NYNB

Happy New Year or Happy Hogmanay as we say here in Scotland! I hope that whatever you have planned for tonight that your celebrations are filled with madcap craziness, friends and family, and that you can actually still remember it all tomorrow morning. As part of my new year plans I have decided to participate in my very first blog hop, the New Year, New Authors, New Books blog hop, created by Ashley at Closed the Cover. Those of us taking part will be sharing our bookish resolutions with all you lovely people and hopefully you’ll share some of your bookish resolutions for 2014 with us as well.

Now, my bookish resolutions are usually just limited to things like Must Buy More Books and Read, Read, Read but that would make for a pretty short post so I’ve had to put a bit more thought into them this year. Have a look and see what you think…

1. Actually read the permanent residents on my wishlist

I don’t know about you but there are certain books that have been kicking around my wishlist since I first discovered the joys of having a wishlist. For one reason or another,maybe I’ve been too intimidated to tackle the book, or it’s too long, maybe it’s out of my comfort zone or I never really find myself in the mood for that particular genre, these books seem to continually get shoved further and further down the list by the shiny new books that I’m continually adding. In a typical case of ‘out of sight, out of mind’ I usually end up forgetting all about them and they just languish at the bottom, never to be read. Well, I am determined that in 2014, I will FINALLY get around to reading some, if not all, of these once forgotten books. This includes books like Fahrenheit 451, Petite Mort and Foreign Correspodence.

2. Get back to reading more widely

Overall in 2013 I wasn’t too bad at reading widely but towards the end of the year, which may have been a contributory factor in the dreaded reading slump I experienced, I found myself reading the same genres over and over. Namely – YA and supernatural. Now, don’t get me wrong, I LOVE these genres and have no intention to read fewer of these books but I would like to get back to adding more variety in alongside them. I’d like to read more books that are out my comfort zone or are written in styles that I don’t usually go for. I’ve always been a bit intimidated by books nominated for awards like The Man Booker Prize but I’d like to get over that and at least give books like A Tale for The Time Being a shot. Books like The Marlowe Papers that are written entirely in verse are books that I’d usually avoid like the plague but next year, I’d like to give them a try. It’s also pretty shocking the lack of classics that I read in 2013 so that has to be remedied as well.

3. Read some of the most talked about books

There were a few books that I heard a lot of people talking about this year, whether in the blogs, the media or in real life but for some reason I never got around to reading them. Books like The Cuckoo’s Calling, Legend and The Luminaries for example. With the last one on that list, it was the sheer scale of the book that made me keep putting it off but I don’t want things like that to keep me away from potentially good reads in 2014 so hopefully I’ll be able to get over the fear factor and try it someday. With the others, I just want to see what all the fuss was about!

4. Book housekeeping

The bags and bags and bags of books that are currently sitting under my kitchen table could probably fill an entire bookshop. They have been sitting there waiting for me to take them to the charity shop or sell them on ebay for more time than I’d care to admit and I SERIOUSLY need to do something with them next year. Given how much of a problem there is finding space for new books, I really need to be brutal and go through my bookshelves to find and remove books that I know I won’t read again or have actually not gotten around to reading at all, and add them to the pile for the charity shops. I have a strange and powerful resistance to getting rid of any books, whether I like them or not, but I MUST overcome this in 2014! I must!!!

5. Book blogging

Those of you who read my post on Anxieties of a New Blogger won’t be surprised to discover that in 2014 I’d really like to work on things like the amount of time I spend checking my blog stats, comparing my blog to other people’s and stressing about what to write. If I can get to the end of the year and have managed to convince myself that all I need to worry about is writing content that I want to write, enjoying interacting with other bloggers and just enjoying the ride, then I’ll count that as a very successful blogging year!

To celebrate the new year and my first blog hop, I am giving away an Amazon giftcard to one lucky reader! Unfortunately things like Rafflecopter don’t seem to work on a free WordPress blog so what I propose is that if you want to participate in the giveaway, leave a comment letting me know and saying what book you’d buy if you won. When the blog hop closes on the 2nd January I’ll make a list of all those who participated and randomly select a winner! Not terribly sophisticated I know, but what can I say, I’m old school. :-)

Even if you’re not participating in the giveaway (which will be open internationally!) let me know what some of your bookish new year resolutions are!

If you haven’t already, check out the other blogs taking part in the hop by clicking on the link below!

Powered by Linky Tools

Click here to enter your link and view this Linky Tools list…

34 thoughts on “New Year, New Authors, New Books Blog Hop

  1. All worthwhile resolutions! Mine are basically to read my existing TBR (because it’s out of control) and to read more diversely (ethnically, internationally). If I won a gift card, I would purchase scads of Kindle Daily Deals. That seems to be my vice lately. E-books are so easy to buy cheap and not feel guilty about because they don’t collect dust in my house. ;)

    Happy New Year!

    • Happy New Year! Reading the TBR is definitely something I’ll need to work on in 2014 as well. If only I could stop buying books until I finish them! Definite advantage to the ebooks there! :-)

  2. I have such a hard time giving books away. I have a ton of books that are collecting dust, but I just can’t bring myself to get rid of them. I am planning to donate at least two boxes of books to our library’s annual book sale. (I’m not yet saying how big these boxes will be…) I also want to read more classics and rediscover German literature. If I won a gift card, I would purchase a specific edition of Barbara Kingsolver’s The Poisonwood Bible. (But I might be tempted by the Kindle Daily Deals as well…)

  3. Good list of resolutions! I agree with you that the book housekeeping is difficult… I’ve gotten so bad, that I can’t even get rid of my three-year-old daughter’s old books. I’ll find just about any excuse to keep them! I wish you courage and luck with that resolution, and even if you are able to slim down your collection a bit, you will have done well I’m sure! I guess to make things easier we can think of the enjoyment someone else will have reading the books you donate… :) Happy New Year!

  4. Happy New Year Jan!

    One of my resolutions is to tackle a few classics that I tried this year but couldn’t get past the first twenty pages. I know, shame on me for not liking the classics.Also, congratulations on your first blog hop! :) If I win the gift card I’d probably buy Dead Ever After by Charlaine Harris (I know it’s not great, but I wanna see how she finished the story).

    • Happy New Year James! Thanks! :-) The classics can be hit or miss depending on which you read. I can totally understand needing to see how it ends. It’s the only reason I bought it!

  5. I would love an amazon gift card!! Blog hop sounds fun! If I win the gift card, I will buy the 2nd two books in the Divergent series. You recommended it and I purchased the first one. I just started it, but I assume I will need the next 2 ASAP! :)

  6. These are great goals for 2014! My goals are similar, primarily I want to concentrate on the books & ARCs I already have (before I buy or request more!).

    So if I won your giveaway I would definitely use it to pick one from my TBR. I just started reading New Adult books, so I have a long list of authors I have been wanting to read!

    Happy New Year and here is my post:

    Kathy @My Nook, Books & More

    http://mynookbooksnmore.com/2013/12/new-year-new-authors-new-books-blog-hop-giveaway.html

  7. I have some many on my TBR list, that I don’t know what to buy first. I will see which is the oldest on my list and buy that one. Thanks for the giveaway. Koala571 (at) msn (dot) com

  8. I’m excited for more book posts from you this year, I always love to read what you have to say.
    If I won the voucher I would probably buy the unbecoming of Mara dyer, or one by rainbow Rowell, or angel fall, because I really want to read it after your post(s) about it! Happy new year!

  9. I tend to get obsessed with getting a book and then, once I have it on my Kindle, I get distracted with other things. I’m going to try to cut into my TBR pile, for sure. I would get CORRUPTION by Eden Winters (and read it right away)! Happy new year…sigh, I’d love to go to Scotland again…

  10. Pingback: Book Buying: Plan of Attack! | Confessions of a Book Ninja

  11. Do you actually get rid of your books?!
    I can’t let myself, even if I have no intention of re-reading them (which I will do with some books).
    I’ll have a library one day………… :D

    • Well I haven’t got rid of any yet but I have bags under my dining table and there’s no space for anyone’s feet so as one of my non-bookish resolutions is to learn to cook, if I want anyone to come for dinner, I think I’m going to have to make room for them to actually sit down! :-) I’d love a library someday too…sigh! lol

      • I really enjoy cooking (apart from touching raw meat). It can be really fun sometimes, trying new things and whatnot. It’s kind of frustrating at times though, mostly because I’m always thinking of ten other things I could be doing.

        Is it weird to say that I REALLY want to have a dinner party? It would help to have more friends to do that sort of stuff with, haha.
        I’d probably do better with a library than having that happen. XD

        Good luck on your cooking endeavors. Will you be posting about that here?

      • I would absolutely love a dinner party but my friends are kind of spread out in small groups so it’s difficult getting people together for that kind of thing! My best friend is usually my guinea pig but she’s 8 and a half months pregnant just now so it’s probably best I don’t ask her to experiment too much! lol

        I might post about my pathetic cooking attempts but the dishes that would be a big triumph for me would probably be pretty basic for most people so I don’t know how interested people would be! :-)

      • I know what you mean. I think the older you get, the harder it is to do anything with friends. Nothing ever seems to work out right…

        And maybe 8 1/2 months pregnant would be the PERFECT time for food experimentation, as long as it’s all cooked and whatnot. :)

        I think there are a lot of people out there who don’t know much about cooking. Maybe your journey could inspire someone else to take it up!

  12. One thing I have noticed is that a lot of blogger want to get out of the genre they are stuck in. This happens to me a lot because since I run a YA Book Club on goodreads I read with them every month. This makes me be in the YA market all the time. I do love Horror so I wish that I had more time to read more of those. Plus I want to read more classics too!!

    • Yeah, I think we just keep seeing great books in certain genres on the blogs and get so excited we have to read them right away rather than mixing them up with other genres. Most of my Christmas books are in similar genres but I’ve got a few different ones waiting for when I finish those so then I’ll really be able to start with the resolutions.

  13. I really love your first 3 goals — those are all things I would like to do as well. I really do struggle with balancing the time for reading classics/chunky books/award-winners/intimidating books and having time to actually blog (at least occasionally!) I really try to not let it affect my book choices, but it’s definitely hard to find the time for everything. The Luminaries is one I definitely want to read (as well as her first novel). And Fahrenheit 451 is one of my favorite books I ever read in high school — I highly recommend it and actually would like to re-read it this year. I wish you luck!

    • It is such a struggle to get the balance right isn’t it? There’s just not enough hours in the day! Glad to hear that Fahrenheit 451 is a good read! I’ve thought about reading it so many times but I’m determined that this year will be the year I finally do!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 101 other followers

